New CCNA – Syslog Questions

By | August 4, 2017

This is an Updated CCNA Syslog exam question (2016). As usual, take time to read through the question so as to clearly understand what Cisco wants you to do.

Note: These Syslog questions is used for demonstration only; you might see slightly difference in the context used in the real exam. But it all works the same way if you could just understand the subject.

For a refresher, please read our Syslog Explained tutorial.

Question 1

A network administrator enters the following command on a router: logging trap 3. What are three message types that will be sent to the Syslog server? (Choose three)
A. informational
B. emergency
C. warning
D. critical
E. debug
F. error

 Answer: B D F

Question 2
What command instructs the device to timestamp Syslog debug messages in milliseconds?
A. service timestamps log datetime localtime

B. service timestamps debug datetime msec
C. service timestamps debug datetime localtime
D. service timestamps log datetime msec

Answer: B
The “service timestamps debug” command configures the system to apply a time stamp to debugging messages. The time-stamp format for datetime is MMM DD HH:MM:SS, where MMM is the month, DD is the date, HH is the hour (in 24-hour notation), MM is the minute, and SS is the second. With the additional keywordmsec, the system includes milliseconds in the time stamp, in the format HH:DD:MM:SS.mmm, where .mmm is milliseconds


Question 3

A Network administrator configured Syslog with a level 3 trap. Which following 3 types of logs would be generated (choose four)
A. Emergencies
B. Alerts
C. Errors
D. Warnings
E. Critical

 Answer: A B C E
The Message Logging is divided into 8 levels as listed below:

The highest level is level 0 (emergencies). The lowest level is level 7. You can use the “logging console level” command to view a specific level, and all the higher levels will be displayed. From the question above, level 3 trap is configured; that means Emergencies, Alerts, critical and Errors messages are displayed etc.

Question 4
Which three statements about Syslog utilization are true? (Choose three)
A. Utilizing Syslog improves network performance.
B. The Syslog server automatically notifies the network administrator of network problems.
C. A Syslog server provides the storage space necessary to store log files without using router disk space.
D. There are more Syslog messages available within Cisco IOS than there are comparable SNMP trap messages.
E. Enabling Syslog on a router automatically enables NTP for accurate time stamping.
F. A Syslog server helps in aggregation of logs and alerts.

 Answer: C D F

Question 5
What is the default Syslog facility level?
A. local4
B. local5
C. local6
D. local7

Answer: D

Question 6
What are the popular destinations for Syslog messages to be saved?
A. Flash
B. The logging buffer RAM
C. The console terminal
D. Other terminals
E. Syslog server

Answer: B C E
By default, switches send the output from system messages and debug privileged EXEC commands to a logging process. The logging process controls the distribution of logging messages to various destinations, such as the logging buffer (on RAM), terminal lines (console terminal), or a UNIX syslog server, depending on your configuration. The process also sends messages to the console.


Question 7
What levels will be trapped if the administrator executes the command router(config)# logging trap 4
A. Emergency
B. Notice
C. Alert
D. Error
E. Warning

 Answer: A C D E
The Syslog message Logging is divided into 8 levels:

Use the “logging trap level” command to view a specific level, that level and all the higher levels will be logged. For example, by using the “logging trap 4” command, all the logging of emergencies, alerts, critical, errors, warnings will be logged.